Gaudi Park

Die Beziehung zwischen Eusebi Güell und Antoni Gaudi

Der von Antoni Gaudi zwischen 1900 und 1914 auf Wunsch von Eusebi Güell entworfene Park Güell ist eines der schönsten architektonischen Meisterwerke in Barcelona. Das von der UNESCO anerkannte Weltkulturerbe wurde während Gaudis naturalistischer Phase errichtet, die sich durch die Inspiration durch die organischen Formen der Natur auszeichnet.

Wenn Sie einen Besuch des Park Güell planen, sind Sie hier genau richtig. Wir verraten Ihnen alles über den Gaudi Park!

Gaudi Park
Gaudi Park

Eusebi Güell: Gaudis Patron

Eusebi Güell wurde 1846 in Barcelona als Sohn einer wohlhabenden Familie geboren und war ein begeisterter Reisender. Er studierte in Spanien, England und Frankreich, bevor er die Geschäfte seines Vaters übernahm. Als geschickter Unternehmer gelang es ihm, das Familienvermögen mit seinen zukunftsweisenden Ideen zu vergrößern.

Im Jahr 1878 besuchte Güell die Weltausstellung in Paris, wo er dem Architekten Antoni Gaudí begegnete. Sie freundeten sich aufgrund ihrer Gemeinsamkeiten an. Beide waren gläubige Christen, die sich für Architektur interessierten. Als seine Geschäfte wuchsen, benötigte Güell neue Gebäude und wandte sich natürlich an Gaudí, um diese zu entwerfen.

Gaudi und Güell

Die berufliche Verbindung zwischen Eusebi Güell und dem Architekten Antoni Gaudi wurde 1878 auf der Pariser Weltausstellung geknüpft. Dort sah Güell eine Schaufensterdekoration, die Gaudi für den Handschuhhändler Esteve Comella entworfen hatte. Das erste Projekt, mit dem Güell Gaudi beauftragte, war die Anfertigung von Möbeln für die Pantheon-Kapelle im Palacio de Sobrellano, einer Stadt in Canterbarea.

Eusebi Güell schätzte Gaudis Architektur sehr. Er beauftragte ihn mit einem weiteren großen Projekt, dem Palau Güell, seinem modernen Haus. Nach vielen erfolgreichen Aufträgen und Kooperationen zwischen den beiden wurde Gaudi schließlich im Jahr 1900 mit dem Bau des Park Güell beauftragt.

Güell erkannte schon früh die Bedeutung von Gaudis Architektur. Die Verbindung zwischen den beiden Männern war nicht nur beruflicher Natur, sondern wurde zu einer inspirierenden Geschichte wahrer Freundschaft.

Häufig gestellte Fragen: Gaudi Park

Wer hat den Gaudi Park in Barcelona entworfen?

Antoni Gaudi entwarf den Park Güell in Barcelona.

Wer war Antoni Gaudi?

Antoni Gaudi war ein bekannter Architekt und das Gesicht des katalanischen Modernismus.

Wodurch wurde der Gaudi Park inspiriert?

Der Park Güell wurde ausschließlich von der englischen Stadtgartenbewegung inspiriert.

Wozu war der Gaudi Park ursprünglich gedacht?

Der Hauptwunsch war es, ein Haus für Familien zu bauen, das die Aussicht und die frische Luft nutzen sollte.

Was ist der Barcelona Gaudi Park?

Der Park Güell ist ein privatisierter Park, der aus Gärten und architektonischen Elementen besteht.

In welchem architektonischen Stil wurde der Gaudi Park errichtet?

Der Park Güell ist im Stil des Modernismus gehalten.

Lebte Gaudi im Park Güell?

Im Jahr 1906, im Alter von 54 Jahren, zog Gaudi in ein vom katalanischen Architekten Francesc Berenguer entworfenes Haus im Park Güell. Dies war sein letzter offizieller Wohnsitz in Barcelona. Er lebte hier fast 20 Jahre lang bis zu seinem Tod.

Park Guell Gaudi

The Relationship between Eusebi Guell & Antoni Gaudi

Designed by Antoni Gaudi between 1900 – 1914 at the request of Eusebi Güell, Park Guell is one of the finest architectural masterpieces in Barcelona. The UNESCO recognized world heritage site was constructed during Gaudí’s naturalist stage, which is characterized by the inspiration he drew from the organic forms of nature. Read on to find out about Gaudi’s vision for the park and how it unfolded.

Gaudi and Guell

Antoni Gaudi | Barcelona’s Celebrated Architect

Antoni Gaudi was a Catalan architect, who has come to be seen as a pioneering symbol of Art Nouveau and modernism or Catalan modernism. Gaudi is renowned for his intricate work in architectural structures in Barcelona. His works have a highly individualized, sui generis style.

His first major project was  the Casa Vicens influenced by oriental architecture. Over the years, he created many masterpieces: the Bellesguard Tower, Park Güell, the restoration of Mallorca Cathedral, Casa Mila, Casa Batlló, and most importantly, the Church of the Sagrada Familia.

Know More About Antoni Gaudi
Gaudi & Guell

Eusebi Guell | Gaudi's Patron

Born in Barcelona in 1846 to an affluent family, Eusebi Güell was a keen traveler. He studied in Spain, England, and France before taking over his father’s businesses. A skilled entrepreneur, he was able to expand his family fortune with his forward-thinking ideas.

In 1878, Güell attended the World Fair in Paris. It was here that Güell encountered the architect Antoni Gaudí. They became friends over their similarities: both were devout Christians, who had an interest in architecture. As his businesses grew, Güell required the construction of new buildings and naturally reached out to Gaudi to create them.

Gaudi And Guell

The professional bond between Eusebi Güell and the architect Antoni Gaudì was established when Guell saw a window display that Gaudi had designed for glove trader Esteve Comella at the Universal Exhibition Paris in 1878. The first project Guell assigned to Gaudi was to make furniture pieces for the pantheon chapel at the Palacio de Sobrellano, a Canterbarean town.

Entrusting extensively on Gaudi's architecture, Eusebi Güell assigned him another major project to carve his modern house- the Palau Guell house. And after many such successful contracts and collaborations between them, finally in 1900, Gaudi was assigned to build Park Güell.

None, but Guell recognized better than any of his contemporaries the significance of Gaudi's architecture. The connection between the two men was not only related to professionalism but it became a real tale of friendship to take inspiration from.

All Your Park Guell & Antoni Gaudi Questions Answered

Q. Who designed park Guell in Barcelona?

A. Antoni Gaudi designed Park Guell in Barcelona.

Q. Who was Antoni Gaudi?

A. Antoni Gaudi was a well-known architect and the face of Catalan modernism.

Q. What was Park Guell inspired by?

A. Park Guell was solely inspired by the English garden city movement.

Q. What was Park Guell originally intended as?

A. The primary request was to build a home for families that would take advantage of the views and fresh air.

Q. What is Park Guell today?

A. Park Güell is a privatized park composed of gardens and architectural elements.

Q. What is the architectural style of Park Guell?

A. Modernism is the architectural style of Park Guell.

Q. Did Gaudi live in Park Guell?

A. In 1906, at the age of 54 Gaudi moved to a house designed by another Catalan architect, Francesc Berenguer inside Park Guell. This was his last official residence in Barcelona. He lived here for nearly twenty years until his death.